Tuesday, August 31, 2010

But Duhhdddy....Zombies Are People Too!

And so it begins! I have been in London for two official days now. I.LOVE.IT.
My favorite things about London thus far:
             1. My flying mate "dribbled" on me. (not sarcastic. I just loved that he said dribble, not drool)
             2. Little British girls sound even more irritating and whiney with an english accent.
             3. The little boy on the Heathrow Express screamed "BUT DUHHDDY! I JUST SAW THE FIRST GREAT WESTERN" extremely loud, every single time we passed said train. 9 times. And he also knew every single thing about first great western and why it was certainly the best train in Britain.
             4.  PDA has no meaning in Europe
             5. Hyde Park is the absolute dream park. It is like the the city's backyard. You can go there and get away with anything. Really. Anything.
             6. Everything just seems better in London, even the bums look more presentable than the People of Wal-Mart.
             7. While you are out for a stroll in your neighborhood there is a possibility that you will run into some famous piece of architecture or building every 5 minutes. Not Kidding.
             8. American men are a million times better looking than British men. And there really is one in a millionth chance you will run into a good looking British lad, and when you do --he is Fi-ine.

Well,  my list is much longer, but I just would rather tell you about things you would actually like to hear about and make sense to you lovely readers of mine, rather than me just giving you one liners about experiences I have had.

So my first day in London was quite the experience. I felt like a Zombie wondering about the streets of the strange city by myself, and I felt incredibly out of place.

My flight from Las Vegas to Montreal was good. About 6 hours, and pretty relaxed. I caught up on some Modern Family and gawked over the photographers work who was sitting next to me. He is going to be my wedding photographer. Hands Down. I should probably figure out his name.  Our flight was delayed a tad. So my 50 minute layover turned into a ten minute run through the montreal airport. At least I got my exercise in for the day. My flight from Montreal to London was rather long, but relaxing. I read about half of persuasion and couldn't sleep. I turned on the light to read and the "dribbler" next to me got mad. So, TV it was. I watched about 8 episodes of my new favorite show "The Good Wife" and couldn't really tell you what happened. I was staring but definitely not paying attention. I was so out of it.

I arrived in London and everything felt so unreal, until I thought I was going to die when all the taxi's were driving on the wrong side of the road. It still startles me to see them coming down the wrong side of the road. So I got to the hotel and long story short, I couldn't meet up with my friend Jani because I was having major phone issues. I set out to explore London by myself and  did everything in my power not to fall asleep so I could adjust easily. I walked about, and decided to go to the National Gallery. it was GIGANTIC. I got the first floor covered in about 2 hours. What was in it, I couldn't really tell you. I think I stared at a picture of who knows what for a good 40 minutes. I fell asleep staring at it. I really was a Zombie walking around London all day.

Speaking of Zombies, funny story. I was headed towards Parliament and there was this huge demonstration going on and I couldn't figure out what it was for. There were a good 30 people dressed up like dead people and zombies. Strangest thing I have ever seen, except for Brittany Spears with a bald head, but that is just something of it's on oddness. They all had picket signs that said Zombies Are People Too and The Dead Need Their Rights. So yes, it was a strange day.

Today I woke up and got a taxi over to the London Centre, I got here at about 9:30, and two other girls were here, Jane and Lexi. Jani and I are in Dorm 1 together ( which is the best floor. No need to hike up the 4th of 8 floors. I think I already have a nice bum. :p) with 7 other girls. We are kind of the step children, but I'm not complaining. It's pretty quite, and we have our own bathroom. After more girls got here and settled in a group of 8 of us set out to do a "walk around the neighborhood" which is a walk from our book Walking Around London. Jani and I ended up as the tour guide. Yes, not the most brilliant idea. We ate at Korahs, which is the best Indian food in town. "If you haven't been to Korah's, you haven't been to London". We then set out to finish the walk and see the sites from Notting Hill. Yep, didn't really happen. I am convinced they just tore down the blue door the and the Travel Book Co, because if I couldn't find them, they certainly aren't there.

After we got back we kinda hung out and once a few more people got there we went to go lay out and read our Jane Austen Novels in Kensington Gardens. Can't get more classy than that. We ended up sitting in a pleasant little shaded area with an adorable little couple giving us a little show. Yep, Europeans know no shame. It was quite humorous, and after a good while I think they heard us giggling obnoxiously and kept looking at us and stopped snogging. (yes, this is natalie taking a picture of the kids making out)

Dinner was wonderful and I met about everyone who came in. We were finally all here! They seem like a really fun group of girls and I know this will be and exciting semester. After dinner a larger group of us went out for another "walk" from our book. Jani and I turned out to be leaders again. Yes, not the biggest success. We are convinced it is just a cursed book. We just put it away and made up our own walk around Hyde Park. We saw the Peter Pan stature and the Prince Albert memorial, and the Princess Dianna Memorial, and the list could go on. But this is a rather long post and I am sure you all are bored.

I have to get up in the morning to run with Jani and Lauren. But all is well!

Cheerio.

No comments:

Post a Comment